DS Golf cart struggles uphill

I am far from an expert but you might want to check a few things first before jumping in to new batteries. They ain't cheap!

Make sure all the tires are up to pressure. Then jack the wheels off the ground and make sure each one rolls freely without undue drag. If both those tests pass then check all your cable connections. A dirty or faulty connection can reduce the power by HUGE amounts and also become a fire risk when really bad. If all your connections are tight and clean and you aren't carrying a tool box or load of firewood around in the cart weighing it down / slowing it down then start checking the batteries. But in all honesty you need to supply more information to get a better answer. 36 volts isn't a lot of voltage to work with.

How old are the batteries? When was the last time you topped off the cells with distilled water? Will the batteries hold a charge over night or for a week? Is it kind of slow all the time but really drags down going up big hills? Does it have stock or oversize tires? What system does it use? IS it OLD with resistor coils or new with a computer box?

Answers to these questions will help one of the guys who know a lot more than I do help you better.
Sorry I couldn't be more help.

Larry

My 36 volt golf cart struggles to make it up a hill, is this a battery problem?
I’ve tested batteries and I have 38.4 volts fully charged and have 6.4 volts for each individual battery, and it will hold the charge for weeks, also l jacked up rear of cart to run the wheels and still have no drop of in volts.This is my first cart and not sure where to begin, except to bring it do a golf cart mechanic .